Museum Mile Festival

Day 9 of AWESOME: Museum Mile Festival

As someone who does not frequent museums often (but loves me time!), I thought adding this bit of culture was important to my AWESOME-fest.  Just so happens that June 12, 2012 marked the 33rd Museum Mile Festival of New York City: a mile long “block party”* from 82nd to 105th street where 10 of NYC’s coveted museums are housed.  I decided to see what all the excitement was about.

I chose the Museum of the City of New York.  This was no random choice.  A friend had suggested I visit years ago.  She was mesmerized by the old photographs and what she learned about the concrete jungle we live in.  I must admit, I was curious myself…

I enjoyed this “me” time and I even learned some things:

1) Economic turmoil has existed throughout American history as far back as the beginning… SO given that we get dramatic about it just about every decade, I figure we should take the chin up approach and do what we can with the present…

2) New York’s East River Waterfront (UES!) used to be the site of farms, villas and meadows where New York’s elite settled before the FDR was built and the upper east side joined the rest of the concrete.

3) New York has been the home of a huge portion of America’s social activism. Historically, New Yorkers have banded together to fight for social justices that have impacted and transformed the whole country. (Takeaway: New Yorkers have always been aggressive…it’s not a new thing)

Museum Mile Festival is over but the museums are still there and they’re worth checking out!

http://www.mcny.org/

Leave a Reply

