Running Towards Awesome

Day 17.  Time to recenter after my travels and engage in my new found hobby: running.

The thought that I would run races and enjoy this form of exercise never crossed my mind before last year.  In fact, growing up I would dream up any excuse possible to get out of any running requirements set by my coaches.

So here I am years later finding myself signing up for races and looking forward to my run after work.  A  year ago I had to summon every ounce of mental strength during a 3.5 mile race (you can do it, you can do it, you can do it, you can do it…).  This year?  I’m summoning strength to run a half marathon and going on 4 mile jogs as a wind down from work.

How did I get here?

I started off slow.  On the treadmill.  I ran every couple days and started with 2 miles, then 3, then 4, then 5… I learned how to pace myself, control my heart rate, take a mental break and stay in tune with any discomforts or injuries that might come up.  Then one day I felt great during my run and ended up running 7 miles.  More than I’ve ever run before.

I started thinking about doing longer distance races and got the push I needed when my friend asked if I would run a half marathon with her.  The training took time and I found myself more mentally preparing than expected, but crossing that finish line was pretty amazing.

Currently, you can find me on the west side highway running along the Hudson River a couple times a week.  I love being out there with the other runners and I love taking in the view.

Its become an AWESOME part of my week.

Leave a Reply

