Turning It Around

reflection on a plane

On Day 37, everything that could have gone wrong… went wrong.

In preparing for this week’s work trip, I planned to wake up circa 4am (a miracle for anyone who knows me) and drive to the airport to take an early flight, putting me at a client meeting bright and early.

Easy!

Not quite.  The 2 hour drive turned into 4.  I missed the only non-stop flight of the day.  I couldn’t understand my friend, the GPS (which turn lady?!?!).  I almost missed the 2nd flight.  I just about peed my pants flying through a storm (apparently this is of NO concern to the pilots).

By the time we landed in random pit stop (ie layover point), I was ready to call it a day and head back to NYC.

I decided to regroup.  I sat myself down, ate a couple bags of JetBlue (Blue) potato chips (I’m a fan) and had a double vodka (naturally).

Things turned up from there:

  • Through methods of friendly waves and overstepping boundaries, I befriended the pilots of my next flight.  They assured me that we would not intentionally fly directly into hurricane Isaac’s path (phew).
  • I met the crew of the plane and prepped them for my on-board bloody-mary intake.  (I even scored a free one!)
  • I read my book of the moment: “White Girl Problems” – Babe Walker.  (Don’t judge, just read)
  • I enjoyed team bonding by the water (the upside of traveling for work)
  • I ended the evening with a bath (my hotel go-to)

About turning it around:

Not easy.  But when achieved: Awesome.

6 thoughts on “Turning It Around

  1. One of my favorite travel books was an anthology called “Bad Trips.” (Now who did I last lend it to, and where?)
    Your episode would fit right in. Even so, hope the trip back was uneventful. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

