Summer Bucket List

north avenue beach chicago

The anticipation is over.

Summer is here.

And it’s not just any summer… it’s my first Chicago summer.

Since moving to this city, I have heard much about this anticipated time of year.

I’ve been told that the summer is unmatched, with a myriad of festivals, beach days, outdoor concerts, sports gatherings, rooftop cocktailing and outdoor activities.

I’ve been told that people flock to Chicago during the summer in the same way that New Yorkers flock to the Hamptons; in this case, running towards the city, instead of away from it.

My excitement has not been subtle.

It might be my strategic layering of clothes-so-I-can-be-ready-to-beach-it-at-any-moment, my not-so secret plans to re-live senior spring break or the speed with which I sign up for activities (whether I have time  for them or not)… everyone from my co-workers to friends to my Wholefoods fish guy knows that I’m a tad psyched for the nice weather.

To make sure the summer doesn’t fly by, I’ve gone ahead and made the following bucket list.

bucket list

Let the frolicking begin.

There will be little sleep.  But there will be new adventures.

This summer is going to be Awesome.

5 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List

  1. Great ideas! I like that you limited yourself to 11 goals. I would have gone over board! Those seem like extremely fun activities and achievable goals. Good luck and happy 80th to you Grandpa!

    • Unfortunately, with all my travels, extra-curriculars and job (can’t forget that!), I just have to be realistic. Thanks so much!! I’m looking forward to giving grandpa a day of pure joy. I’ll let everyone know how it goes. I hope you’re applying your bucket list as well and having a great summer!!

  2. Pingback: 25 Free Summer Activities | Ask The Young Professional

Leave a Reply

