Turning it around… part II/Random Acts of (Kind) Surprise

reflection

Today was day 4 of the elevators in my newly renovated building not working.

If you know me… then you know that I don’t take to these types of injustices well.

I live on the 23rd floor.  And hiking up a mountain at the end of the day is not on my list of things to do. Regardless of the exercise bonus (I just got my ass KICKED in booty ballet and I refuse more exercise).

SO.  Waking up this morning to find the elevator button simply non-operational brought up my heart rate instantaneously.

I was ready to fight management (physically), call the Better Business Bureau or hurl myself down the stairs to give them something to deal with… maybe all three at the same time.

I somehow made it through the lobby without attacking anyone and took the bus downtown to work.

As I got off the bus, I noticed a man walking toward me in the all-out chaos of rush hour in downtown Chicago.

I debated conking him in the face.

He came over and gave me one of the nicest compliments I’ve ever heard.

I was stunned for a moment.  Looked awkward.  Said thank you.  Turned.  And smiled, despite myself.

I walked off smiling.  In that embarrassing way that surely had people thinking… “issues.”

This stranger quite literally turned my day around with one comment.

(I’m considering the missed connections portion of Craigslist).

Nothing left to do… except pay it forward – Since random acts of kind surprise are just…

Awesome.

6 thoughts on “Turning it around… part II/Random Acts of (Kind) Surprise

    • Haha oh man. That wasn’t the point! He said “you look perfect. Like you walked out out of a magazine” – nothing earth shattering! But you can’t help but smile anyway. Hope you’re having a great 4th of July weekend :). – S

Leave a Reply

