Inspiration Fridays

I kicked off this week by sharing with you all this note my friend wrote me.

why i like you

It was unexpected and Awesome.

Today, I’d like to end the week keeping with this theme.

Shortly after I posted Sometimes, the following link/experiment was brought to my attention.

It’s called The Science of Happiness – An Experiment in Gratitude, which states that showing and giving gratitude raises our happiness levels exponentially.

In order to prove this, the people behind Soul Pancake decided to bring in a group of individuals to try this theory on and well, embarrass wholly for our benefit.

These individuals took a test regarding their current happiness levels and then were asked to write a short essay about the person that influences them the most.

And then they were asked to call that person.  And read their letter aloud.  On video.

The video is here.

It’s worth watching it for yourself.

Today I decided to try the experiment for myself.

I wrote a short letter about my dad.  Then I called him at work (he’s a consultant) and asked him to step out of his meeting.

…..Papa – Thank you for always listening to me and hearing out any issues I’m having – no matter how crazy they are……..I appreciate all the advice and love……When I was super little you always told me to stand tall and encouraged me to go out and be my best. And you still tell me that all the time.  And I still need to hear it. All the time………… I know you don’t hear this enough, but… thank you……  I love you.

me happy thankful gratitude

Pretty sure dad was utterly shocked and scared for a good 30 seconds. (WHAT. I can be sweet!)

And then I’m pretty sure there were smiles on both ends of the phone line.

Even if you don’t try the experiment yourself, watching the video will make you smile.  Promise.

Awesome.

8 thoughts on “Inspiration Fridays

  1. Pingback: #SocialExperiment in the #Inspiration of #Gratitude #Philosophy #Leadership | johndwmacdonald

  2. I watched that video the other day. Has your relationship with your dad gotten better in just the last few days….even if it wasn’t strained in the first place? I wonder if there are any results to this other than a brief moment of happiness.

    • That’s a great question. My relationship with my dad is getting better as the years go on. I see this as one step that’s part of many in the right direction. When I was little our relationship was more strained and over the past decade we’ve grown extremely close. But I can see how this would have a bigger effect when telling someone like a teacher, etc who might not expect it at all. I speak to my dad most days. Hope the week is going well!

Leave a Reply

