Nostalgia: The College Years

Day 11 of AWESOME (and 12 and 13) will be experienced from the mountains of New Hampshire, where I spent four great years.

This weekend marks my 5th year anniversary of my graduation from college.  As expected, I had doubts about the weekend; would it be fun? weird? awkward?  Would I remember everyone’s name?

Thus far it has been amazing.  Driving onto campus I immediately remembered my first trip up when I was a mere prospie (prospective student) and fell in love immediately upon stepping out of the car.  I remembered our favorite places to eat in town, the endless days of laying out in the center of campus, the times spent working hard yet playing harder, the laughter, the dorm life and the sense of freedom we felt.

My friends and I immediately went through old rituals, visited favorite campus spots, ate our favorite food, purchased college gear (I NEED that new college logo workout shirt!!) and spent more hours in a fraternity basement than needed…

Most symbolically, we moved into an on-campus college dorm.  This marks the beginning of the first of three days that we get to relive the experience of student-life.  Today was about coming “home” again and experiencing something that is so natural and familiar and yet so suddenly foreign at the same time.

Thank you to my school for understanding that hosting such incredible weekends binds us to this place we call “home” and reminds us why our experience was and will continue to be AWESOME.

Leave a comment